Cavaliers Cricket Club, Colchester, Essex, England

19 October 2011

Cavaliers Celebrate 2011 Awards

String quartet, Scintillo, demonstrated their remarkable virtuosity at the Colchester Cavaliers Cricket Club Annual Awards Gala Dinner whilst entertaining members, their partners and the club’s sponsors. In between two fine contrasting musical sets, they tuned their strings into celebratory fanfare pomp to acknowledge sporting excellence, and into humour where not.

List of winners;
Club Cap – J Walton (72).

First XI Batsman – S Gilhooly (341 runs @ 26.23)
Second XI Batsman – M Vinter (291 runs @ 36.37)
Club Batsman, the Fisher Jones Greenwood Trophy – M Vinter (441 runs @ 36.75)

First XI Bowler – D Howell (21 wickets @ 16.29)
Second XI Bowler – D Adefajo (21 wickets @ 16.10)
Club Bowler, the Just Because …Flowers Trophy – D Smith (24 wickets @ 16.10)

Fielder of the Year – D Young
Rookie of the Year – A Bray
Chairman’s Trophy – M Vinter
Clubman of the Year – S Johnson
Duck Trophy – J Borges
Premier All Rounder – JJ Ellison

Special thanks go to our sponsors, Property Book UK, Fisher Jones Greenwood, and Just Because Flowers and to their representatives that presented the various trophies. Also to the many wives and partners that attended. A nice touch was that each received a beautiful flower (courtesy of Just because Flowers), as a thank you for their contribution to another successful season. Also our thanks go to Tony Mayhew for his traditional comic interlude, and to Simon, Sylvia and Phil Everett for their sterling work in the kitchen and on door duties. Lastly, to Colchester & East Essex Cricket Club for the venue and bar support. It was a most enjoyable evening and the general consensus was that the departure from our traditional format worked extremely well.

No comments:

Post a Comment